Skip to content

First Post

September 23, 2011

So this is technically the first blog post I’m writing I guess. No pressure.

The question I get asked most at this point when I bring up YO Miami to strangers who know nothing about it is “What is it?” A valid and pretty obvious question all things considered. The answer isn’t as simple as that though. For me, YO Miami started on a whim, based on offhand comments I kept getting from friends after a decent period of me hounding them with information about events and venues in the Midtown/Wynwood area. From there it’s been a convoluted, crazy path to get to where the site is today.

All it took was a slow day at my 9 to 5 for me to say, hey, I’ll make a facebook page to post all the information I’ve been texting/calling individual people separately about  and see what happens; if I suddenly find myself with 1,000 followers, I can figure out how to make it commercially viable. If it tanks and I end up with 4 fans, well then it didn’t cost me anything to try. And thus http://www.facebook.com/YOmiami was born.

Between being in the right place at the right time and knowing the right people (Kazilla, Junk, the Vagabond family, Vince Herrera, and many more) I found my network of contacts and venues steadily expanding. Between that and my ever growing bookmarked list of select local blogs (Soul of Miami, Sweat Records, Beached Miami, Open Media Miami, etc.) I was able to then pass on all the new experiences I was encountering on to the page. As the page kept expanding, I started adding more photographic content and fine-tuned the way I announced the events, trying to listen to the feedback I was (surprisingly) getting from strangers.

I couldn’t be happier with how the page has been developing and hopefully this website will allow me to take the project to the next level for you guys rather than just becoming another site out of the other hundreds we’re inundated with every minute of every day. I look forward to continuing to grow with your help and to supporting/contributing to the local art scene which, unfortunately, so many people are unaware exists.

From → BLOG

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

